North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is so great about short reed calls? I've been calling geese for many years and would like to think I'm pretty darn good at it. I've always blown flutes and have had very good luck with them. I would like to add another call to the lanyard for more options and have thought about a short reed since I don't have one. I would like to know what makes them so great. I checked out another post on here about lower priced calls and those were all calls that I have looked at. I want to get a cheaper call to try it out and eventually move up if I like them. Like I said, though, are they just that much more versatile? Just looking for some feedback from someone who's used both styles. Thanks.

·
Registered
2,054 Posts
I started blowing a flute when I was a kid and killed alot of geese with it, When short reeds were the new big thing I switched over and havent looked back. A flute will still kill geese but it is tough to beat the sound and variations of crisp clear sounds you can make on short reeds, pretty much they sound better to US, but I dont think it makes that big of diffrence to the birds if you are where they want to be.

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
I grew up on flutes and the standard Faulks "honker" call. Neither can carry a short reed's jock in regard to sound range, tone, and volume control. Once you learn to run a short reed, you'll never look back at any other type of call.

I highly recommend the Winglock Walnut Short Reed which sells for $39.95, for a beginner or a flute guy to learn on. It will also stand with the best & most expensive acrylics available, once you develop some skills. It's the ONE CALL I ALWAYS have with when I'm hunting.