North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was out scoutin for geese and mallards flyin earlier today and I found a few fields that looked promising for the next couple days, but the posted signs were old and not updated. I know its legal to hunt the land if the signs aren't updated, but I also knows its not the right thing to do. Is it just a matter of hit or miss for most hunters on finding good land? I'm kinda new to hunting so any advice would be helpful!

·
Registered
5,191 Posts
If you know the intent of the posters, you should not hunt the land. You could and should get pinched for tresspass if you do. Talk to the landowners. Not all posters mean no hunting, some just want to know who is out there.

·
Super Moderator
8,737 Posts
Call the landowners. I talked to the CO today about it and he said even if its not posted legally, the intention is still there so if you took it to court you would lose. Every land owner I have talked to this year has been very nice and has let me on their land. I even had a guy the said no to me earlier this year call me back and said it is ok and I can go out for the rest of the year.

·
Registered
236 Posts
All you can really do is give the land owner a call. It depends on the area but alot of farmers that I have cam across want waterfowl hunters out shooting the birds out of the fields! Its not worth hunting the field w/out dated signs and geting some farmer all bent out of shape. That would just cause trouble for everyone.

·
Registered
5,113 Posts
If there a sign, whether its signed and dated, or not, new this year, or 20 years old..get permission..or stay the hell out of the field.

I will guarantee a ****** off landowner if you disrespect the intent of a posted sign. (new or old)

Get permission or find another area its not hard to do..