North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright i will get right to it...This is my first year bowhunting and i am not up to full knowledge on location of stands yet as where to set my stands. I got permission for the groves that surround houses in the country that a quite thick and that i have seen deer in when the corn wasnt at full height. I simply walked in the grove found a trail went off the trail a bit and set my stand. Now until the leaves are gone i can only see about 20 yards in each direction so i cant see far till the leaves are gone. The groves are surrounded by corn on some sides. I was wondering about some locations to set my stands on these types of hunting terrains. Should i set a stand on the corner of the grove over looking the corn field when its harvested or should i stay in the thick part and wait for the leaves to be gone and the corn to be harvested so they move into the groves or what. Sorry for the lenghthy writing but i need as much help as possible on these types of groves. Thanks a ton

·
Registered
5,191 Posts
Biggest thing is to make sure you are downwind from where you think the deer will be walking. If the prevailing winds are Northwest, as they SHOULD be here, then make sure you are downwind!!!

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·