North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do any of you hunt pheasants alone?

I am a veteran of pheasant and waterfowl hunting. This year I will be going to N.D. with just myself and my chocolate lab. In the past, I have tried to hunt small corner sections or single line fences but the birds still run out the other end. Can some of you who have hunted Pheasant alone share some stories or tips on how you have hunted alone and been successful?

SJB
Colorado

·
Registered
35 Posts
I can help out on this one...I usually go one trip out west a year by myself. Usually late in the year when all my friends have put away there shot guns for the year and are busy watching the Vikings choke off another season...Sorry, still bitter from 98!

What I do is follow the dog and let her be my guide...Go slow...Work the outside edges of cover...Crp, sloughs, etc...Most of the birds tend to be on the outer edge of cover anyway! Zig Zag to cover more ground and go slower. And of course, work the most promising cover into the wind...I usually do very well by myself...The only downfall, tough to take pictures! :D

·
Registered
603 Posts
I have to agree with Rick A. When I go solo, I usually tend to work the small cattail sloughs, or the edges of the CRP. I normally dont try the belts, because they do run out at the end.

·
Premium Member
6,676 Posts
Hunt quiet, no dog bells no whistle no verbal commands, park elsewhere don't slam door, Don't where floresent orange ( make sure its not deer season)

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you everyone. The tips are great.

Bob, When does deer season end in ND?

SJB

·
Registered
4,645 Posts
SJB, best is after Thanksgivng because of the hunters best friend----snow. If you come then, bring snowshoes. West of the river you'll hunt CRP and crick bottoms but they are usually hayed or grazed out.