North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am BRAND new to muzzle loading. I ALMOST bought a Buckstalker or a Wolf. After lots of reading, along with careful consideration, I figured it was worth it to spend an extra $50 and get a TC Impact instead. This being my 1st muzzle loader I didn't want to spend a fortune on powder and ammo learning to shoot my new toy. My plan is to buy both lose powder AND pellets, as well as round balls (.50 cal, 177 gr.) to get a feel for my rifle. I also wanted to start off with only 50 gr.'s and work my way up. Before I go hunting I will buy sabots or conicals, of course. Does this sound like a reasonable plan of attack? What size patches do I need for this set-up? Can I stack the patches if I choose too thin? Will the round balls be so much different from the hunting-ammo that I won't learn anything useful? Also, I figured I would invest in some 40 gr. pellets along with the 50 gr. ones for more flexibility in my loads. Will the 40's work in my setup or is the diameter too small? I believe the 40's are pistol pellets. One more thing, can I cut the pellets in 1/2 to get measurements of 25 and 20 gr.'s for even more flexibility? I'm sure I'll have plenty more questions where those came from. Thank you for your time and consideration before hand :)

P.S.- I read an article written a few years back about Spanish-made barrels only being proofed to 10k psi and a lot of accidents happening in the meanwhile. Does this still hold true? Was it JUST the CVA's or ANY Spanish-made barrel (Traditions, etc...)? I MAY still buy a Deerstalker as a backup gun to compare the differences and get a little different flavor in my new hobby.

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·