North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think I've read every posting on the internet discussing comparisons of these two rounds (7mm Mag vs. 30.06). I'll likely purchase a REM 700 SPS Buckmaster in one of these two calibers; just can't decide. One thing I haven't really heard discussed on these two rounds is which would someone pick if money and convienience of finding rounds wasn't an issue. Purely on performance and capability which would you choose? I'm somewhat new to hunting but I hope to be hunting deer, elk, and bear all around the country but mostly in the Pacific NW. I haven't fully ruled the .270 out either.

Any opinions would be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
Purely on performance, the 7MM Magnum wins. Ammo availability, probably favors the 06' (although I don't know why this should be a consideration as if you travel somewhere, forget your ammo, and you can't find the make & weight of ammo you are sighted in with, you are screwed either way. The answer is simply to buy or load to have a sufficient number of whatever load you settle on, and don't forget it...).

I have both 270 & 7MM Magnum. I've had quite a number of 06's over the years but always seem to trade them off. I've pretty much settled on the 308 for my non-magnum 30 caliber.

I like the 270 better than the 06' for no valid reason. I probably have killed bettter than 90% of all my big game with a 270. I also love the 7MM Magnum and consider it the point where power and shootability meet for the average shooter. If I could only have one rifle for all North American big game (excluding Brown Bear which I'll never hunt), I would go with the 7 MM Magnum...