North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. A great site here, I came across it on Google. I'm a student at Ohio State and have only been hunting geese for two years. I've only hunted early season. Are the migratories just as easy to hunt the first few days? Will geese use cut soybeans fields? How many doz makes for a good spread? Will it be better to use more or less on the migratories? I currently have 3.5 dozen dekes, (I know I need more) 2 standard carry-lite shells, .5 doz. mag carry-lites, .5 doz. super mag carry-lite and .5 doz Avery standard size shells. The articles I've read say to get full bodies. I would love to do that but one concern I have is getting them from the truck to the field. The full bodies that is. I am looking at the Gooseview blind and can sled some of them out but what about a lot of dekes? More then one trip? Does anyone have a suggestion for transporting them, other than 4 wheeler or driving the truck in the field? When asking this I also have a question on the Gooseview Destroyer. I am 99% certain that I'm buying it before the migratory season starts up. The only question I have is, will my face be covered up or will I need a facemask. I haven't been able to find a good picture online of what I'm looking for. Also I have a Big River flute and I just got a H.S. Slammer short reed that I want to be confident enough with to use in Nov. The only problem is I can't do anything other than make a high-pitched screech. I used the tape that came with it and it helped me with the Big River call, so I can make more than the one I knew before. The box says the slammer is hand tuned but I think I have to adjust the reed myself. What does anyone else think? How is the snow goose hunting in the spring there? My brother and I want to take a trip up that way before real life starts making it harderon us. That;s all the questions I have for now. I really appreciate all the hel