North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been hunting feilds for a few years know but a mainly a water hunter down here we do flood fields so the hunting is a little different and we like five goose pits so my layout blind does not get a hole lot of use. I was jsut wondering what you guys all thought on number a guys you can get away with in a feild don't get me wrong I know you have to take along time to como the blinds I usually try to take at least a half hour per blind. but just wondering. If you need to know I will usually be hunting over about 14 dozen FB honkers and if after ducks we have 3 dozen FB mallards as well what do you all think. thanks in advance.

Wetspot.

·
Registered
976 Posts
as a rule, we generally don't take over six in the field with us. usually its 4 or 5. it all depends on the situation and the species you are hunting, early season ducks you may be able to get away with more, and I've had a few late season honker hunts where we wished we would have had 10 guys, but once you start getting that many "clumps" of straw and stubble in the decoys it makes concealment a big issue.

·
Registered
843 Posts
Concealment has never been my issue with number of guys. It's shooting opportunities and guys shooting over other guys. I prefer 2-3 good guys that you trust. That's it.

Honestly I prefer me and 1 other guy. Little to no room for confusion or errors.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·