North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner

How about an Outfitter Tax

3422 Views 14 Replies 6 Participants Last post by  Fetch

So ND has all these guides and outfitters that charge $200 to $500 per day for hunting in ND.

Why not legislate in a new tax (say 10% or 20%) onto any $$$$ that are payed to a licensed/registered outfitter. This money is then used to obtain more PLOT land.

Thus if an outfitter runs 8 people per day @ 250 /day for the month of October (8X250X31) he grosses $62,000. Tax adds $6,200 to $12,400 to the PLOT land acquisition fund.

Most states already have a hotel occupancy tax of 5 - 10%. In addition, Minnesota often has added an extra tax to raise money for stadiums, etc... Legislature adds a special tax to bars, hotels, etc... Money dedicated to special fund.
1 - 3 of 15 Posts
Does the hotel owner pay your 5 or 10% occupancy tax ?

When you buy gasoline - does the station pay the tax bill for you ?

When you buy a box of shotgun shells - does the store pay your sales tax ?

Maybe your dad does, but these hotels and stores do not - the customer pays.

Lets think outside the box. Sure you can work to limit the number of guides and/or the land they lease. Reality screams that those already in business will continue on. Why not pull some extra $ for PLOT land off their client base.

The people and corporations that use these outfitters are more capable of spending this extra money relative to NR freelance hunters (wealthy guide using residents too).

Sooo Again:
Do you really think that this tax would be paid by the outfitter. The way this would work is the outfitter would add the tax to the client's bill. Those NR or (residents for that matter) that hunt with an outfitter pay more to the state than the freelancer. If you still do not get it here:

Four days hunting ($250/day) = $1,000
10% outifitter tax = $ 100
Total Bill = = $1,100

Guide still gets his money. :******: States gets a nice income too. :D

1) Taxation is rarely equal (the word fair is a debate in itself). The Feds tax your first 40K income at 15% and it goes to 28% after that. So taxation is not even from an income tax perspective.

2) Most states have some sort of homestead exemption. You live in the home you own you pay less than the guy who has rental property. In some states the first 50K or 100K of your property value is taxed at a lower rate or tax exempt. Those that own more property or higher value property or commercial property often (not always) pay greater taxes.
See less See more
As often as we throw off the gloves (a hockey phrase) we also tend to agree. The sad fact of the matter is guides already get an allocation of the NR deer licenses and NR land owners get deer gratis tags too.

In the 2001 legislative session - the guides were staunchly fighting for an allocated number of licenses.

I forsee another move in that direction come January.
1 - 3 of 15 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.