North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've hunted ducks before, but this is my first year to geese. I also feel fortunate in that my wife is buying me a dozen goose decoy's for my b-day next week. The help I need at the moment is with in calls. I have tinkered with trying to learn to use goose calls for 2 years and keep having problems withthem and end up giving them to my kids to play with. With one call the two parts ended up getting stuck together and I couldn't clean it out. The second is a Primos flute beginer call with a ribbed hose thing on the end that is supposed to help the beginner work it easier. This second one though seems to be very limited in sound and I have not been able to get it to do greeting calls. I have read all of the postings on selecting a goose call, but they seem to always end up discussing calls that are $100 or over. I am a graduate student with a good wife and three kids, so my budget is limited to probably around $25-$30. Any suggestions on an affordable call that I can learn and grow with and that will produce the calls I need? Any suggestions you could give would be appreciated! I am also very willing and open to suggestions and help in developing this skill. My wife would probably appreciate it too, because she has been enduring all my efforts in trying to learn this, which has been long and not very successfull so far.

·
Premium Member
1,577 Posts
Big River Long Honker. It is a flute call, and runs around $25. It is easy to blow and you can make a lot of sounds with it. Now, as some will tell you, I am not an expert. But, it is the honker call I like.

·
Registered
843 Posts
I'll second the Big River long honker - it's cheap and is the easiest to make the cluck sound you need. I think the wood ones sound better than the plastic ones, but you can kill geese with either. Perhaps Fleet-farm has them the cheapest?