North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I tried searching for this but came up empty handed. I thought this would be a good place to ask because I know people on here like to head out west and chase mulies with their bow. Does anyone have, or has anyone seen a GPS unit that shows township/range/section coordinates? I just think that would be the ultimate way to navigate the grasslands so you can be certain you're staying on public land. I guess my grandpa was out one year chasing a big buck and some guy told him he was on private land. But he knew the area/map well enough to call BS on the guy and told him he KNEW he was hunting grasslands and the guy couldn't do much after that. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
27 Posts
I'm a land surveyor in ND, and I've never seen a GPS base map that has actual coordinates for boundary lines/ corners. If you find one, let me know... it would be very helpful for me!

If you're hunting on state or federal land, the governing body may (depending on when the boundaries were surveyed) have Lat/ Lon data on various section corners, quarter corners, etc. With the advent of GPS equipment being used for boundary surveys in the last ten years, it is possible that you could get a map with the coordinate information shown.

Keep in mind that the coordinate information that may be provided would likely be in State Plane coordinates, not Lat/ Lon. Still, you could convert it, and then apply the information to your handheld GPS. (keep in mind, your accuracy is +-20')

If there hasn't been a survey done, I doubt any jurisdiction will want to give you boundary coordinates that they are unsure of. The liability in saying that "this is the property line" is a big one... one that not many will take lightly. You can't imagine the number of surveys I have done over boundary disputes concerning hunting land.