North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a non resident and I have duck and goose hunted in N.D. for the past 8 years. The best hunts of my life have taken place in North Dakota. I say to the residents of North Dakota, fight the commercialization of your hunting resources to the last bit of your strength. You have the last best place to hunt in America because of the relative lack of commercial hunt operations be they lease or guide service. The rest of the country is dominated by commercial hunt interests. When I go to North Dakota, it is the freedom to search out game and go hunt it that is so appealing to me and I think so many others. It is the freedom that is so important and precious these days. Invisible walls do not yet arise at the road side in North Dakota. A person can look at the far horizon and more times than not say why not. Do what you have to do to protect this last precious reminder of what has already passed most of us by.
Jeff Lansdale aka Hatchie Dawg

·
Registered
108 Posts
Thank you Jeff..I am glad someone understands the issues and realizes ND does not want to put up a DO NOT ENTER sign for nonresidents, but only wants to keep something that is pretty special and protect it for both the residents and non-residents.

·
Registered
3 Posts
I am from Texas,which obviously would put me as a non resident of North Dakota. Let me tell you what happens when commercial hunting takes over, I've seen everything change in the last decade and a half.

I had relatives who had land up in the panhandle, and down by the coast. I spent much of my time there helping them on the farm and became good friends with many surrounding farmers of the area.Hunting was great for a couple years,as I could hunt in prime areas.But when commercial hunting moved in,it literally changed overnight.