North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im pretty new to trapping and was wondering if there were any alternatives to dyeing and waxing your traps? I watched a predator hunting video recently and they simmered the traps in water and baking soda for an hour or so. that would be a hell of a lot easier for me. :lol: will this work? also any suggestions on sites to get dye and wax in case the boiling and baking soda doesnt work? thanks guys!

·
Registered
2,574 Posts
Tip:
When boiling traps, don't just let them sit on the bottom, it'll weaken the springs. I use flat bricks on the bottom so the springs are not contacting the metal bottom, ie flame.

You can use logwood dye it, works very well it just takes a bit more time. Another alternative is Speed dip, it is very easy and as stated speedy. The dying is basically just to cover up the metal (shine) and act as a preserver, if you're waxing, it isn't necessary but some might jump on me for that.

If you're using new traps you're going to want some rust for the dye to stick too. I just do a quick boil in dawn dish soap and water to get the oil off. then I let them sit. If i need them quick, i'll throw them in some running water, (creek, stream, river) until rusty. Then just pull them out, air dry, take a wire brush after them and start dipping.

let the dip dry, then wax, let dry and get to work.

tip: when melting the was I also don't let the wax get in contact with the flame, I use a water bath. This will reduce the risk of scorching the wax and making it smell burnt.

I'd just go to:
http://www.minntrapprod.com/
They'll have what you need.

I hope this helps, again everyone has their perfered method. Try several and see what way you like. some other dies that I've tried are black walnut husks, sumac berries. You can also use alder bark, I haven't played with it at all.