North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have a yellow lab that just turned 2 yrs old sept 19, 2003 she has gone hunting with me last year and this year. i have no problems with her advancement except that she retrieves everything i throw her on land except a goose (haven't tried another type of bird eitherpheasent season is comming) but if a goose falls in water or i throw one in the water she will fetch it almost to me untill her legs or feet hit land or bottom of the lake any ideas i was wondering if its the weight. she does turn it over and starts to like pluck it what do i do thanks . :-?

·
Registered
9 Posts
laabdog said:
she does turn it over and starts to like pluck it what do i do thanks . :-?
I'm no expert, but I had the same thing happen last year. It was a new "toy" for my dog that she wasn't used to. She was content just playing with it. I dealt with it by using just plain old repetition and correction. I got her thinking the fun was bringing it to me and not playing with it. We've only had a few geese, so this is still a work in progress...but the first goose this year wasn't a problem.

My issue is that I've got the smallest lab- 45lbs soaking wet. The bigger birds take her a while to get a good grip on. The fowl trainer dummys are excellant cuz she always takes a grip on the body, but its hard for her to keep it held. So I just started having her carry logs around the yard to stregthen her mouth and neck muscles.

Good luck!
Dave

·
Registered
37 Posts
Another thing you could try is attaching some wings to a larger dummy. This will help the dog get used to the feathers in its mouth. Make it fun for the dog and reward him/her when they do it right.

·
Registered
206 Posts