North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,978 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is there such a thing?

I am very new to handguns, and I am wondering if anyone has some suggestions on a happy medium here.

I would like a gun that will work for deer hunting, but also be small enough for a conceal to carry permit and to have as a self defense pistol in the home.

Just curious what some of your experiences have been, and if some guns exist. I have been doing a little looking around, but now I am getting a little more serious about shopping. :beer:

·
Registered
844 Posts
Maybe a 1911 in 45 ACP It should be big enough to take down a deer if your sclose enough. Or maybe a shorter barreled 357 mag. If you reload you can load some hotter rounds for deer and then buy some personal protection rounds. IMO don't use reloads for personal pertection, that is not a time to chance having a bad reload.

·
Registered
1,697 Posts
You can use a 10mm in a 1911 or a Glock 29. The Model 29 is the compact version the model 20 is rather large to hide. The 357Sig is another caliber that should work well.

·
Registered
120 Posts
People said:
You can use a 10mm in a 1911 or a Glock 29. The Model 29 is the compact version the model 20 is rather large to hide. The 357Sig is another caliber that should work well.
Stick with the 10mm. Its the best hunting round mentioned so far. The full size Glocks are not hard to conceal. You just need to buy quality leather.

In double action revolvers, a 41 mag S&W 57 or 58 with a 4" barrel would be ideal. In single actions, a Ruger Blackhawk in 41 or 44 mag with a 4 1/2" barrel would be a great choice.

·
Registered
777 Posts
OK here's my 2 cents worth, for what that's worth.