North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the contender pistol world and have bought an original contender pistol with a 30 30 win barrel and am looking for information from some shooters that have experience with these weapons. I have always wanted a hunting pistol and this is my first attempt. Any information on these weapons or advice on how to go about shooting these guns is most welcome. Thanks in advance from a novice pistol hunter.

·
Registered
446 Posts
Get a good set of shooting sticks and learn how to use them. I find that if I have something to lean my back against use my sticks for the gun and brace my elbows on my knees gives me the best results. Shooting offhand can be done with a 10 inch barrel but i find the 14 inch barrels hard to shoot offhand. I hase some contenders with dot sigts and some with high magnification scopes. For hunting where shots will be less than 100yds a dot sight is easy to use and good for deer sized game for me. 2-6 or 2.5-8 power scopes are great general use scopes for most ranges that you will use your 30-30 at. Shoot a lot and find what work well for you. The 30-30 with 125gr nosler BT has worked well for me in the past. It can be fun and challanging to hunt with a handgun, gophers and rabbits are great practice.

·
Registered
777 Posts
Welcome to the world of the Contender Handgun. Life as you knew it is now over as these things are super addictive.

I started hunting with Contender Handguns in 1982. As per just starting out I would recommend a low magnification scope or a variable. The main reason is Handgun Scopes have a smaller field of view than Rifle Scopes of the same magnification. This coupled with the fact that there is no stock comb to guide your eye to the scope gives newcomers a hard time finding their intended target with Handgun Scopes.