North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys am going elk hunting by myself out in the Belts in MT. Anyone been there before. Does anyone know of any horse packers in the area to get game out if i was to kill an elk by myself? Also any other info would be appreciated as this is my first time out there. Send me a private message here if you dont want to put any extra info out for everyone to see. thanks for your time.

·
Registered
986 Posts
You ever been Elk hunting before? Even though I do it, I consider it un-wise to go by yourself. Especially in an area you don't even know. It can be extremely dangerous. I fell last week while elk hunting and was extremely lucky/blessed that I was able to get up and walk out on my own power. Just a littel bit worse, and I might still be laying there waiting for someone to find me.

On the outside chance that you do get lucky enough (or is it un-lucky?) to kill one you will definitely have your hands full if you've never done it before. I can gut a deer in about 10 minutes or less, by myself, but my first elk took over an hour, by myself. And that is the easy part. As for getting someone to pack it out for you, I'd recommend not even going unless you have something pre-arranged or are extremely hardy. Since you are suggesting that you might need someone to pack it out for you, I am guessing that you are not up to the task of packing it out on your back. I have done it several times, and it is a physical challenge to say the least. It usually will take me 4 or more trips with a backpack full of meat to get one elk out.

No, I've never been to the Belt mountains. Sorry I can't offer any advice there.

FWIW........

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·