North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Premium Member
1,405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been reloading for almost two years now and have used only Winchester brass for 30-06 and 300wm. I haven't had any troubles other than a few necks that weren't perfectly round, but that is taken care of when I size it. I recently got a 25-06 and bought some new Winchester brass to start reloading for it, but I've found a few problems with some of the cases. The biggest problem is that a bunch of the flash holes aren't centered in the primer pocket. The other problem is that there seems to be some spots in the brass that are kinda stained. Even after tumbling these cases for two hours these spots are still there.

· Registered
1,697 Posts
The out of round will happen with any manufacture. A lot of that happens in transport. I bought 500 6mmbr Lapua brass and many of them had mouths that were not round any more.
Those spots are just watter spots from the final wash they give their cassings they do not hurt performance one bit.
The flash hole thing out of the last 1,000 .308 brass I bought I had 26 or 27 that had off center flash holes. Most of them were close but a few I think they were punched out by hand while heavily drinking.

· Premium Member
1,405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I guess I'm not worried about the out of round or even the stains. They won't effect performance. I'm wondering what kind of effect the off centered flash holes would have tho. I don't spose it will hurt anything to shoot them and see what it does or just throw the handful of them out. I'll get ahold Winchester and see what they say.

· Premium Member
1,405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·