North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been bowhunting for 33 years and thought that it would be nice if I could try and give a little back to the great sport of bowhunting. To all you newcomers to the sport, here's some of the best advice that I give you, from my years of experinence:

1) Always be aware of the wind direction and use it to your advantage. Never assume you can fool a deer's sense of smell.

2) Scout as much as possible (all year long). I believe the more time scouting, the less time you're going to have to spend actually hunting.

3) Don't let someone else determine what's a throphy to you.

4) Don't rule out public land, especially early season.

5) Don't think that the only good time to hunt is near and during the rut. Early is a lot of times better than late.

6) Did I mention, pay attention to the wind.

7) Always gain permission on private land.

8) Don't leave home without a grunt call and don't be afraid to use it.
(Any time of the season) Grunt calls have kill me more bucks then any other tool or gadget you can buy.

9) The best way to get good at killing deer is to kill deer. Don't feel bad about shooting a doe and don't let other people make you feel bad about shooting an antlerless deer.

10) Did I mention, play the wind.

OK, there's a few. Other hunters, jump in and offer some of your advice as well.

·
Registered
116 Posts
11) Practice with your equipment.
If you hunt from a treestand...practice from one.

12) Don't shoot beyond your abilities.
If you scout and set up right, you will be able to keep your shots within 30 yards.

13)Oh yeah, watch the wind.

Good post TheDogSlayer1.

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
Get extra doe tags & fill them. bowhunting is an entirely different experience than rifle hunting, and you need to get some kills under your belt so that when you get a crack at a good buck you are able to focus & 10 ring him...

·
Registered
30 Posts