North Dakota Fishing and Hunting Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to field hunting for waterfowl. I have about 20 goose decoys 12 hot buy shells and some floaters I bury the keel on. My question is should I buy a dozen cheep full bodies, or should I buy a quality goose call like a feather duster with a DVD to teach me how to use it. I am currently using a flute. lastly i will also be hunting ducks out of this spread, and hunt mostly with myself and maybe one other person. thanks for your help

·
Super Moderator
8,737 Posts
Get a good call and the dvd. When buying decoys or calls dont ever buy cheap (unless they are used) If you buy cheap you will hate yourself in the long run.

Feather Duster are good calls, along with Tim Grounds, Death Row, and Sean Man.

·
Registered
3,046 Posts
I'm not sure where you're going to get a dozen FB's for the same price as a custom call. You could probably get a call and a half dozen FB's.

If money is a real issue I'll tell you what I tell everyone. Try a poly Super Mag. It's about half the price and all the call.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I am a student right now and have limited money so i was looking at the sport plast collapsible goose decoys because they are $90 a dozen and i only have $110 to $120 i can really budget for hunting other then gas to scout

·
Registered
987 Posts
diver_sniper said:
I'm not sure where you're going to get a dozen FB's for the same price as a custom call. You could probably get a call and a half dozen FB's.

If money is a real issue I'll tell you what I tell everyone. Try a poly Super Mag. It's about half the price and all the call.
x's two...

no reason for ya to get acrylic, they are alright, but not worth paying at least 2-3 times as much....

right now tim grounds has a super mag in orange for 35 bucks... been my favorite call so far.. I like the real thang, but just can't make it do anything my poly super can't do...