Junior Duck Stamp Contest Winner Announced

March 29, 2009 by  

By Chris Hustad

A pair of blue-winged teal were the top winning waterfowl chosen as the 2005 Best of Show in the North Dakota Junior Duck Stamp Contest. “The Sun Watchers”, is the title of the Best of Show winning drawing by 18-year-old, Daniel Dwyer from Bismarck. Daniel used oil paints to depict a pair of blue-winged teal resting on a fallen log over a marsh. His artwork was selected from over 600 entries from across North Dakota. This is the second time Daniel has taken home Best of Show honors since he began entering in the contest.

Daniel’s painting will compete at the end of April 2005 in Maryland at the National Jr Duck Stamp Contest along side 51 other state and U.S. territory entries. First place winners of the National Jr Duck Stamp receive a trip to Washington DC, a $4000 cash award and their entry made into a stamp.
Daniel is a senior at Shiloh Christian School where he enjoys playing soccer, basketball and baseball. He also is an avid skier. Daniel gets most of his inspiration for his painting from his hunting experience in the marshes of North Dakota. This year he wanted to try something different than a duck floating on the water. He painted a pair on a fallen log and some habitat features. The judges agreed as they commented that the overall composition of the artwork was eye catching.

An awards ceremony will be held for all the first, second, and third place North Dakota winners in Bismarck on April 24th in conjunction with the Lewis and Clark Wildlife Club banquet. Winning students will receive ribbons and prizes donated by various state wildlife, sportsmen’s groups and other organizations. The winning artwork will travel around the state to local malls, national wildlife refuges, and other events throughout the summer.

The other first place winners (age)
in the four age categories are:
Will Aide (14), Bismarck
Noah Christenson (7), Maxbass
Joseph Dwyer (11), Bismarck
Thomas Dwyer (15), Bismarck
Jessica Haag (15), Fairfield
Jaiden Langlie (7), Fargo
Jory Miller (11), Deering
Danielle Molinaro (9), Bismarck
Christina Rolf (18), Valley City
Brennen Stotts (9), Lisbon
Samantha Swanberg (17), Valley City

Second Place winners (age)
in the four age categories are:
Shana Anderson (15), Valley City
Charles Coleman (11), Bismarck
Chase Conway (7), Westhope
John Guertin (16), Valley City
Breanndolyn Lies (14), Horace
Christa Maasjo (17), Valley City
Ethan Miller (8), Newburg
Kali Miller (9), Deering
Nicole Molinaro (12), Bismarck
Angela Morford (15), Bismarck
Jade Teske (9), Westhope
Nathan Triebold (15), Valley City

Third Place winners (age)
in the four age categories are:
Hailey Bauer (17), Mandan
MaKayla Gessner (15), Newburg
Benjamin Kietzman (7), Edgeley
Katelyn Kjelland (12), Valley City
Alyssa Lee (9), Lisbon
Ashley Miller (11), Newburg
Timber Morgan (8), York
Cassie Nelson (16), Valley City
Lauren Olson (12), Devils Lake
Olivia Rogers (11), Valley City
Taylor Teske (11), Westhope
Kari Wisnewski (13), Geneseo


Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

Human Verification: In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.